The next UEPG triannual Sustainable Development Award Ceremony will take place

On Wednesday 16 November 2016

At 15h00

In Palais des Beaux-Arts, Rue Ravenstein 23, 1000 Brussels

What are the UEPG 2016 Sustainable Development Awards?

The European Aggregates Industry supports the principles of sustainable development and is committed to operate with care and concern for the environment, for its neighbours and for society as a whole. The UEPG Sustainable Development Awards illustrate this commitment by promoting the spread of best practice and by encouraging projects that go well beyond what is required by planners or regulators, set new standards of excellence and provide an inspirational example that others can follow.

UEPG launched the first European Restoration Award scheme in 1997; in 2005, UEPG enlarged the scope to all aspects of sustainable development with the UEPG Sustainable Development Awards; in 2010, a special award was dedicated to Biodiversity. Since 2013, UEPG is receiving more than 40 applications at each edition.

For the 2016 edition, the independent Jury is composed of:

Angelo Caserta
Regional Director, Birdlife Europe

Dr. Jonas Satkūnas
EuroGeoSurveys, Director of Lithuanian Geological Survey

Jean-Pierre Damm
Vice-Chair of SSDCEI ( industriAll – Trade Union)

Sirpa Hertell
Member of the CoR, (EPP, Espoo, Finland)

Dr. Robert Galler
Institute for Subsurface Engineering, Leoben University, Austria

This year, the independent Jury will have to make a selection out of a number of 41 excellent entries.

Moderated by Peter Woodward, the excellence of the Industry will be showcased during the Ceremony on 16 November!